About: Laura Legge Award

Posted: 05/13/2013

cta laura legge

Laura Legge, O.Ont., Q.C.

The Laura Legge Award recognizes women lawyers from Ontario who have exemplified leadership within the profession.

The award was established in 2007 in honour of the late Laura Legge, O.Ont., Q.C., the first woman ever elected as a bencher of the Law Society and the first woman to serve as Treasurer.

Laura Legge, O.Ont., Q.C., graduated from Osgoode Hall Law School in 1948 after earning a B.A. and a nursing degree. In 1955, she and her husband established the still active law firm of Legge & Legge.

Legge served as director and chair on a number of high-profile boards. She was also the recipient of several prestigious awards including the Order of Ontario.

Laura Legge died in 2010.

Past recipients

Kimberly Murray, 2015
Susan E. Opler, 2014
Marie T. Henein, 2013
Mary P. Weaver, Q.C., 2012
Fay K. Brunning, 2011
Crocetta (Chris) Gruppuso, 2010
Janet A. Leiper, 2009
Susan Elliott, 2008