2016 Law Society Awards: Who will you nominate?

Posted: 11/10/2015

Honouring Excellence 2016 Law Society AwardsOutstanding professional achievement, community service, leadership in best practices…

Do you know a lawyer or a paralegal who has demonstrated these attributes?

If you do, you can recognize their excellence by nominating them for the 2016 Law Society Awards.

Nominations are now open in all five award categories.

The deadline is January 29, 2016. Who will you nominate?

About the Awards

The Law Society Medal

The Law Society Medal is awarded to those who have provided outstanding service within the profession, whether in the area of practice, in the academic sphere, or in some other professional capacity where the service is in accordance with the highest ideals of the legal profession. The Law Society Medal may be awarded for devotion to professional duties over a long term or for a single outstanding act of service.

The Lincoln Alexander Award

The Lincoln Alexander Award was established in 2002 and is awarded annually in recognition of an Ontario lawyer who has demonstrated long-standing interest and commitment to the public and to the pursuit of community service on behalf of residents of Ontario. The award was created in honour of The Honourable Lincoln M. Alexander, PC, CC, OOnt, CD, QC, LSM, to reward his dedication to the people of Ontario and the legal community.

The Laura Legge Award

The Laura Legge Award recognizes women lawyers from Ontario who have exemplified leadership within the profession. The award was established in 2007 in honour of the late Laura Legge, OOnt, QC, the first woman ever elected as a bencher of the Law Society and the first woman to serve as Treasurer.

The William J. Simpson Distinguished Paralegal Award

The Distinguished Paralegal Award was created in 2011 and renamed in 2014 in honour of William J. Simpson and his outstanding contribution to the implementation of paralegal regulation by the Law Society. The award recognizes a paralegal who has demonstrated outstanding professional achievement; contribution to the development of the profession; or other criteria.

The J. Shirley Denison Award

In April 2015, Convocation approved the establishment of an award in honour of former Treasurer John Shirley Denison, KC, to be bestowed annually in recognition of significant contributions to access to justice and/or poverty issues.

Both paralegal and lawyer licensees of The Law Society of Upper Canada are eligible for this award, established to honour Denison’s commitment to helping others. 

More information

More information about the awards and the nomination process is available on the Law Society website.