#LSUCawards: An inspiring evening with 14 diverse recipients

Posted: 05/26/2016

group-6184-retouched-344x259Fourteen members of Ontario’s legal professions were recognized for their exceptional career achievements and contributions to their communities at the annual Law Society Awards ceremony Wednesday night at Osgoode Hall.

“The Law Society Awards are presented each year to lawyers and paralegals whose service reflects the highest ideals of the legal professions,” says Law Society Treasurer Janet E. Minor. “All of this year’s 14 recipients are outstanding professionals from the private sector, public sector and academia. We are all very proud to have them as colleagues. The various communities they serve are greatly enriched by their vision, commitment and leadership.”

More than 200 invited guests attended the ceremony and those in the room and online posted enthusiastic tweets on Twitter using #LSUCawards.

From pioneering environmental law, social justice and poverty law to the advancement of women, language rights and mental health, it was clear that each recipient was a singular force in their careers but shared a vision for effecting change in their communities and in the professions.

Photos from the event can be seen in our Facebook album.

After receiving their award, the recipients addressed the audience in the room and online. This year’s ceremony was webcast for the first time and recipients made a special point of acknowledging the family and friends who were watching online.

To read their inspiring remarks, click on each of the following images:

Jenny-QuanJohn Tzanis

Lisa Borsook

Mary Lou Dingle, Q.C.


Ronda Bessner

Jennifer E. BabeRonald F. CazaOrlando Da Silva


David EstrinLinda Gehrke

Kathy LairdProf. Errol Mendes, O.Ont.




Peter RosenthalProf. Frederick Zemans