Outstanding Ontario legal professionals honoured at 2019 Law Society Awards ceremony

Posted: 05/23/2019

Outstanding members of Ontario’s legal professions were recognized for their career achievements and contributions to their communities at the annual Law Society Awards ceremony on May 22, 2019, at Osgoode Hall in Toronto.

“These 12 recipients have shown exemplary vision, commitment and leadership, and it was an honour to present them with the Law Society’s highest awards of recognition,” said Law Society Treasurer Malcolm Mercer.

The Law Society Medal was presented to: Aldo Braida (Guelph/Acton), Tom Curry (Toronto), Professor Jeffery Hewitt (Rama), Cheryl Milne (Toronto), Guy Pratte (Toronto), Professor Carol Rogerson (Toronto), Susan Ursel (Toronto), and Frank Walwyn (Toronto).

Former Attorney General Yasir Naqvi (Ottawa) received the 2019 Lincoln Alexander Award. Pamela Cross (Kingston) received the Laura Legge Award.

The J. Shirley Denison Award was presented to Amanda Ross (Toronto), and the William J. Simpson Distinguished Paralegal Award was presented to Jennifer Gravel Vanasse (Ottawa).

More information about the Law Society medals and awards is available online.

Law Society Awards 2019 Group Photo

Law Society of Ontario 2019 awards recipients pose with LSO Treasurer Malcolm Mercer. From left: Cheryl Milne, Law Society Medal (LSM); Guy Pratte, LSM; Jennifer Gravel Vanasse, William J. Simpson Distinguished Paralegal Award; Aldo Braida, LSM; Tom Curry, LSM (back); Treasurer Mercer; Frank Walwyn, LSM (back); Amanda Ross, J. Shirley Denison Award; Carol Rogerson, LSM; Jeffery Hewitt, LSM (back); Pamela Cross, Laura Legge Award; Susan Ursel, LSM; and Yasir Naqvi, Lincoln Alexander Award.